The Lord of Freedom is intended to be a fourteen-book series.

Overarching themes: Freedom, True Political Leadership, Absolute Good v. Absolute Evil, Spirituality, Empowerment, Gratitude & Hope

This series contains a mix of the praiseful spirituality of C.S. Lewis’ The Chronicles of Narnia, the majesty of J.R.R. Tolkien’s The Lord of the Rings, the adventure and the intense character growth of Christopher Paolini’s Eragon, and a sweetness, a profundity, and a view of politics that is all its own.

Note: Please remember that this series is not for the faint of heart. It contains multiple references to mental health issues, including suicide, and to traumatic topics such as sexual violence. Though the prose is never explicit and does not qualify as mature, the references may still be triggering for some readers.

Book One: The Bell Tolling

Release: December 15, 2021

The Blood-soaked Sorcerer tyrannizes the land of Icilia with every form of cruelty imaginable, dying his armor red in the blood of innocents. Crushed to pieces under such savagery, the people of Icilia abandon hope and begin to forget the gifts of civilization that had once been their dearest blessings.

Amid this darkness comes light in the form of Lord Lucian aj-Shehathar, the divinely appointed hero of Icilia, and Leader of the Quest of Freedom. Sheltered by love and educated in every ancient art, Lucian has the virtue, magic, and power necessary to cleanse evil from the land. But not alone, for Icilia is vast and the enemy’s claws have penetrated far beyond the surface. Answering the call of his sacred destiny, Lucian gathers four companions: Malika, Elian, Arista, and Kyros. Each has been forced to drink at the Blood’s well of suffering:

Malika, once crown princess, has spent years in the tyrant’s prisons and years more fleeing from his grasp. Elian cowers, tormented and alone, amid the remains of the long-ago murder of his parents at the Blood’s hand. Arista fears exploitation of the worst sort as she watches the Blood and his governors prey upon her family, the once mighty warrior princesses of the desert. Kyros gives everything to protect his sister from the abuse of his village in the years after the Blood’s massacre of his family.

Tortured, alone, broken—they are hardly the stuff of heroes. But Lucian chooses them, trusting in divine choice and in his own ability to protect them and build their confidence. With his four companions at his side, Lucian embarks on his journey to free his world. He is determined to restore the forgotten laws, heal the tormented, and unite the land behind his banner. But his companions seem too shattered to save anyone, while his people might be too blind to see the light…

Themes: Redemption, Upliftment, Perseverance, Education

Publisher: New Degree Press; Primary Cover Artist: Lee Contreras

Formats: Paperback and eBook

Availability: Amazon, B&N, Kobo, Etsy

Book One Anthology: The Resonant Bell

Release: May 10, 2022

The Blood-soaked Sorcerer is the undisputed master of the land of Icilia, his tyranny crushing countless hearts to pieces, his cruelty unchecked and unconstrained… Until the rise of the Quest of Freedom, who promise salvation to a people long deprived of every glimmer of liberty.

In Amena Jamali’s The Resonant Bell, a companion anthology to The Bell Tolling (Book One) and a part of the The Lord of Freedom series, we witness how the Quest’s ascension resonates across the land, bringing light, hope, and strength to both those close to them and those far away. Through alternate perspectives on the events of The Bell Tolling and narration of events that occur elsewhere during the same span of time, Darian, Tahira, Eligeo, Ciro, Elacir, Kalyca, Kanzeo, Revera, and Rosalla each reveal a different side to the Quest Leader and his companions as they tell their own stories.

As the first year of the Quest passes, courage is gained, choices are made, battles are fought, and the echo of the Quest’s coming starts the first quakes that crack the terror of the Blood’s reign.

But is it enough? There are many evils that still lurk in the shadows…

A note to remember is that this book is a companion to The Bell Tolling. It is ideally read either concurrently or subsequently to Book One, and it explores some dark themes in even darker shades than Book 1 itself does.

Themes: Redemption, Upliftment, Perseverance

Publisher: Independent Publishing

Editor: Mary Reid; Primary Cover Artist: Lee Contreras

Formats: Paperback and eBook; Availability: Amazon, Etsy

Please visit this link for The Bell Tolling & The Resonant Bell Chapter Reading Order.

Prequel: The Way It Would Become

Kindle Vella Release Beginning Date: June 26, 2022

This is the story of Malika’s parents, set thirty years before The Bell Tolling, and it is a clean romantic fantasy with elements of intrigue and action.


Naman has all the things he would ever want… save the most important: the love of his wife. She married him without saying those three words.


Riqeta, having escaped her abusive family, wants to make a new life for herself. That begins with striking fear into the hearts of her husband’s rivals.


But what Riqeta and Naman don’t understand is that these are small concerns. Because the evil that is coming — well, can they even see it to survive it?

Themes: Perception, Compassion, Communication, Romance

Publisher: Independent Publishing

Formats: Kindle Vella episodic storytelling on Amazon

Review for The Bell Tolling:

“This book is magical. The world is unique and charming. The story feels like one you’ve known all your life but then again it’s not like anything I’ve ever read. It has glimpses of mythology and some Narnia feel to it but it’s not quite that either. There is a roller coaster of emotions through this fairly long book – but the story is so beautiful!”

~ J.L.